Your Cupcake’s in Scorpio

I don’t know about you, but when I think of Scorpio, I think of  the keywords “dark,” “sexy,” and “mysterious.” So when I was thinking up a sweet treat to encapsulate these ambitious and sensual beings, I immediately thought of sweet little secrets swimming in a sea of dark chocolate…

Scorpio Dark Chocolate/Black Cherry Cupcakes

Dark Chocolate Cupcake

1 box of Duncan Hines® Moist Deluxe® Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix

3 eggs

vegetable oil

water

2 teaspoons Hershey’s® Special Dark® Cocoa powder

1 bottle of black cherry preserves

Yes, I am a “semi-homemade” kind of gal, and use boxed cake mix. You are free to make your cakes from scratch if that’s the level of perfectionism you wish to attain. (I’m looking at YOU, Libras.) For the rest of us: make the cake mix per the directions on the box – using the eggs, vegetable oil, and water – but add in the two teaspoons of dark chocolate cocoa powder. Before pouring the batter into your cake or cupcake pans, gently stir in the bottle of black cherry preserves. Then, just bake according to the directions; it’s as simple as that!

Allow the cake or cupcakes to cool before frosting them, and bear in mind that the black cherries will likely have migrated a bit more toward the bottom than being an even distribution throughout the cake. I assure you, the deliciousness is not affected by the phenomenon of “black cherry drift.” For my frosting, I wanted to play up the indulgent and sexy motif, and so I whipped up a little…

Bacchanal Red Wine Frosting

About half a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips

A splash of cream

A nob of butter

Several tablespoons of red wine

Ok, I admit it: I rarely measure when I’m making up recipes on the fly. But frosting is easy-peasy. Put the chocolate chips into a double-boiler if you have it, or just a small sauce pan if you promise me on pain of nasty frosting you’re not going to wander off and check your Twitter while the heat is on. Vigilance, bakers! Vigilance!

OK, so your chocolate is in the saucepan, so put it on low heat. (My fellow Fire signs: “Low heat” = is either “low” or a number less than 3 on the dial. Yes, it has numbers and settings, not just “HIGH MAXIMUM VOLCANIC HEAT.”) You should be constantly watching the chocolate and stirring pretty frequently to ensure it melts nicely and does not stick and burn. As the chips start to melt, you can add in the wet ingredients and the butter and stir until smooth and creamy. If it’s too wet, just keep stirring over low heat until the excess liquid cooks off. Needs more chocolate? Throw some more chips in and keep watching and stirring! Frosting is semi-intuitive and benefits from frequent taste-tests, in my experience. When it’s done, turn off the heat and remove the pan from the hot burner.

You should wait until the cupcakes are cooled and the frosting is not hot before frosting the whole batch, but you know you’ve got to try at least one cupcake right away! Use your best judgement as to when the frosting is ready to be slathered onto the cake.

Snarky Sag BakerYour humble bakestress.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and I look forward to bringing you my Libra offering (yes, I’m going at it all backwards…) which is a French vanilla creme flavored cake with a white chocolate/champagne/raspberry glaze.

I’m not even joking.

2 Responses to “Your Cupcake’s in Scorpio”

  1. […] night I posted one of my latest cupcake recipes — dark chocolate/black cherry — on the Constellation Magazine blog. I have at least one more new recipe up my sleeve and have also become very interested in trying my […]

  2. […] post: Your Cupcake's in Scorpio « Constellation Magazine AKPC_IDS += "692,";Popularity: unranked […]

Leave a Reply

